denied

Got back word from my best option on a new job, a “we have decided to move forward with someone internal” from Bank of America.

I have to admit that I had my hopes up for this one.  While the position was a Band 4 (Bank of America people will know what that means, but it’s a senior-level position), it was in a new area that I thought I could make a niche.  The position was Social Media Research Analyst and sounded like a good opportunity to use some of my analytical skills while getting exposure to Marketing and Executives.

So where to now?  I’m about 3/5 of the way through “What Color Is Your Parachute,” a solid book that’s been recommended from anyone I’ve ever known to be looking for a new job/career.  I think it’s helping me gain some clarity on what I want to do.  Maybe move away from the technology PM work I did at Accenture and move toward Marketing like I studied in school.  I’ve realized some of the things I have a passion for, namely exercise, science, technology (advancements, not managing a systems upgrade), people and why they do the things they do, etc.  I’ve been on top of the Discovery job site for a while, and starting to brainstorm on other like organizations.

I’m attending a summit in Washington, D.C. next week organized by 80 Million Strong, a group that is focused on creation/preservation of jobs for Young Americans.   Read more about the group here – 80 Million Strong

While disappointed, I’m not panicking by any means.  Money is still alright, birthday is coming up, family and friends are healthy.  Right now my goal is to figure out what I really want to do and put everything into it.

